OZEE - Entertainment Now
Watch LIVE Cricket FREE.

India vs England: Virat Kohli replaces MS Dhoni as India's limited-overs captain; Yuvraj Singh, Shikhar Dhawan recalled

Share this:

Virat Kohli was appointed the new captain of the Indian cricket team in limited-overs cricket on Friday, ahead of their three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against England starting January 15.

The MSK Prasad-led selection panel named Kohli as the Indian team’s ODI and T20 skipper after Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped down from the captaincy in the limited-overs cricket two days ago.

The Indian squad was announced after a long delay due to the ongoing brawl between the BCCI and the Lodha Committee.

There was a few surprises in the squad as Yuvraj Singh and Shikhar Dhawan returned for the ODI series. Explosive wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant was picked for the first time in the T20 squad, while veteran Ashish Nehra returned after a long injury lay-off.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who were rested for ODIs against New Zealand, have also been included in the ODI and T20 squad. Ajinkya Rahane returned to ODI side after recovering from a finger injury which he suffered in the Test series against England, but was dropped from the T20 squad.

The ODI series will begin from January 15, with the first match slated to be played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. The second and third ODIs will be played on January 19 and 22 in Barabati Stadium at Cuttack and Eden Gardens in Kolkata respectively.

The ODI series will be followed a three-match T20I series. The first T20I is scheduled on January 26, whereas the second game will be at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on January 29. The third and final game of England’s tour of India 2016-17 will be at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on February 1.

India squad for ODIs vs England: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav.

India squad for T20Is vs England: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ashish Nehra.

Other News

View All