OZEE - Entertainment Now
Watch LIVE Cricket FREE.

India vs England 2016: Hardik Pandya gets maiden Test call-up, Ishant Sharma included

Share this:

All-rounder Hardik Pandya has been named in the Indian Test squad as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 15-member squad in Mumbai for the five-match Test series at home against England, starting November 9.

Gautam Gambhir retained his spot in the squad after KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan failed to recover from their respective injuries. Karun Nair has been included in the Test squad in the absence of Rohit Sharma, who suffered an injury during the fifth and final ODI against New Zealand in Vizag which India won to seal the series 3-2.

Pacer Ishant Sharma makes a comeback into the national side after recovering from ‘chickengunya’, while off-spinner Jayant Yadav, who made his ODI debut against the Kiwis, gets a call-up.

The first Test will begin from November 9 at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot. The second Test of the series will be played at Visakhapatam, which will be hosting its first Test game from November 17, whereas the third Test will be at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali.

The fourth match of the series will be in Mumbai’s iconic Wankhede Stadium, while fifth and final Test will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

India are currently ranked No.1 in the world after thrashing New Zealand 3-0 at home last month. This series though is expected to be a harder test for the home side after England beat them 2-1 in 2012 on their previous tour.

India squad for first 2 Tests against England: Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Gautam Gambhir, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Karun Nair, Amit Mishra, Wriddhiman Saha and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Other News

View All