OZEE - Entertainment Now
Watch LIVE Cricket FREE.

Cristiano Ronaldo crowned FIFA best player for 4th time

Share this:

Cristiano Ronaldo was named the world's best player for the fourth time at the inaugural Best Fifa Football Awards in Zurich. The 31-year-old beat Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid's Antoine Griezmann to the prize.

‘’It was a year that was magnificent at a personal level and at a sporting level,'' Ronaldo said in Portuguese in his acceptance speech.

Ronaldo also won the Ballon d'Or in December, with both honours recognition for success in the Champions League with Real and Euro 2016 with Portugal.

His 34.54 percent of total voting points in a 23-candidate ballot was clearly better than Messi's 26.42 percent. Griezmann got 7.53 percent. Voting was by national team captains and coaches, selected media, and fans online.

Ronaldo and Messi have a history of not voting for each other for major awards and they continued that habit, both filling their top three with club-mates.

Portugal captain Ronaldo opted for Gareth Bale, Luka Modric and Sergio Ramos, while Messi, the Argentina captain, went for Luis Suarez, Neymar and Andres Iniesta.

A players' vote organized by international union FIFPro gave a World XI of: Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich); Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona/Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain, Barcelona), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid); Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid); Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona) and Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid).

Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri, who guided the club to the English Premier League title, also led his side to the last 16 of the Champions League this season, won the award ahead of Real Madrid's Zinedine Zidane, who lifted the Champions League in his first season in charge, and Portugal's Fernando Santos, who led his team to Euro 2016 glory.

‘’What happened last year was something strange. The God of football said Leicester must win,'' said Ranieri.

Carli Lloyd of the United States won a FIFA player prize for the second straight year, despite a quarterfinals exit at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics.

Germany's Silvia Neid retired in 2016 after capping an 11-year spell in charge of the national team by guiding them to Olympic gold for the first time.

The Puskas award (best goal) was given to Penang's Mohd Faiz Subri, who scored a superb, swirling free-kick from 35 yards in the Malaysia Super League.

The fan award went to supporters of Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund, who together sang 'You'll Never Walk Alone' - an anthem adopted by both teams - before their Europa League quarter-final in April, which the former won. The other nominees were Iceland fans at Euro 2016, and Dutch club ADO Den Haag.

Colombian side Atletico Nacional were given the fair play award for their part in the aftermath of the plane crash which killed 19 players and staff of Brazilian side Chapecoense. Chapecoense were en route to play the first leg of their Copa Sudamericana.

Atletico Nacional asked the South American soccer confederation to present the title and trophy to Chapecoense and were rightly awarded the fair play award.

Other News

View All